June 3, 2009

Priceless

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:44 pm by littlesubmissions

She marked her place with her thumb and looked over from the book she was reading. “It’s payday tomorrow, right? How much cash have you got in your wallet?”

He stretched his legs and fished his wallet out of his pocket, then flipped open the folded leather. “Looks like… twelve bucks. Why?”

She waved her free hand at him with exaggerated imperiousness. “Go to the hardware store boy. Buy me something to hurt you with. Keep the receipt, because if you don’t scream enough I’ll be sending you back to exchange it for something more ouchy. Oh, and make sure you bring back as little change as possible.”

He swallowed hard. “I’ve got some change in my pocket too, ma’am.”

She went back to her book, scanned down the page to find her place. “I really think I’d try to spend that too, if I were you.”

Copyright Jerry Jones. Unauthorized use is prohibited.

Leave a Reply

