August 20, 2012

A Shade of Green

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:26 am by littlesubmissions

“So you don’t have a red room of pain?”

“No…  I have an olive closet… of shoes…”  She winced and smirked around a mouthful of breakfast.  “Though.”

Her companion’s face wrinkled around a mouthful of omelet.  “You’re making fun of me.  I just want to understand what it’s like.”

The exhalation was followed by an apologetic shrug.  “Well, I haven’t read the book, from what I’ve heard it doesn’t sound like what I like, but like I said, I haven’t read the book.  Besides, I like being on the other end of the crop, and I’m not a guy, so I really dunno.”

Their was the sound of forks scraping on plates and ice ratting in glasses while they both chewed and thought.

“Okay,” the curious one started, stopped, wondered if she was crossing a line, then started again.  “So just tell me what it’s like for you, and I’ll figure out for myself if it sounds like the book.”

“You really want to know what I get up to?”  It was blunt, direct, an interrogation and not a courtesy question.

The reply was more relaxed, more confident than the question had been.  “Yeah, I’m curious, and google isn’t cutting it.”

“OK.”  She took another sip of coffee, then a second.  “It’s kind of hard to explain though, it’s pretty complicated and sometimes I’m not even totally comfortable with it all.”

“Why would you do it if you’re uncomfortable?”  The words tumbled out hurriedly, eager now.

“Ever gotten a gift from someone that cost more than you know they should have spent, but it was something you really wanted?”

“Yeah, once.”

“OK.  Sometimes it’s like that.  I really want it, I know he wants to give it to me, I even know it makes him happy to give it to me, but it still worries me that I’m being a selfish bitch.”

“Christ, what do you do to that poor man?”  She snickered, then swallowed hard and looked down at her plate.

A shrug, it looked more nonchalant than it felt.  “Okay, look, this is what does it for me.  I’m just going to give you an example.”  Small white teeth clamped on her lower lip, tiny dents remaining as she set down silverware and put her hands on the table.  “He’s lying on his back in the bathtub, and I’m sitting on his sternum.  He can’t really breathe well.”

“Wait, why can’t he breathe?  Is he gagged or something?”

An eyebrow bounced and she noted the eagerness for details.  “No, if you sit on someone’s chest they can’t expand their lugs.  It’s like being short of breath, you can’t breathe very deeply, but you can still breathe.”

Nods back and forth across the table, and she continued.  “Okay, so I’m sitting on his sternum, punching him the chest, same spot, right in the meaty part of the muscle below his collarbone.  His back is against the tub so he can’t move back with the punch at all, and I’m just punching that spot over and over feeling him try to breathe underneath me.  So after awhile, his head starts rocking from side to side, then I can feel his muscles tensing and his shoulders bouncing, and his eyes are all squeezed shut as the water is sloshing around us and he’s breathing these really quick, shallow, gasping breaths.”

She paused to lick her lips, and her companion leaned forward.  “So that’s what it’s all about?”

A staccato shaking of the head, and she continued.  “No, I mean, it’s nice, but it’s kind of just foreplay.  I’m still punching him pretty hard now, in that same spot, and I can feel his whole body kind of convulsing under me, and he twists and kind of rolls his body so I can’t get at that spot very well.”

“Then,” she swallowed hard and nodded, “I put a little weight on my knees, and he takes one or two deep breaths, and flattens his back against the tub again, and opens his eyes, and kind of nods and smiles a little.”

“And?”

“That’s what it’s about.”

Copyright Jerry Jones.  Unauthorized use is prohibited.

6 Comments »

  1. Ferns said,

    I read about a million blogs in my feed reader.

    I thought I had clicked on someone else’s feed.

    I read this, and thought ‘great piece… it’s just like one of V’s… wonder whatever happened to him, he hasn’t posted in AGES…’

    And here you are. You have a very distinctive voice.

    *smile* I liked this one a lot. But then, I like pretty much all of your writing.

    Ferns

    • littlesubmissions said,

      Thanks Ferns. 🙂

  2. wmichaelcook said,

    Thanks, good to see you again, Yes, you have a distinctive voice, a good voice.

    • littlesubmissions said,

      Thanks, glad you enjoyed it.

  3. Star said,

    Finding your blog was the best thing that’s happened to me all year. I love everything about it. Thank you so much. ❤

    • littlesubmissions said,

      You’re welcome, thank you for reading. 🙂


Leave a Reply

